Media Information
Amanda J. Billings

Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

Ivy Tech to Host Civic Engagement
Awards Ceremony

Annual Awards recognize volunteerism, service-learning and campus-community engagement

Bloomington, Indiana—The winners of thirteen civic engagement awards in three different categories along with the Jeanine C. Rae Humanitarian Award will be recognized as part of the O’Bannon Institute for Community Service on Thursday, April 26 beginning at 9 am.  The ceremony is part of the college’s Center for Civic Engagement, a program that promotes individual volunteerism, integration of “service learning” into the teaching curricula and facilitation of community events on campus. 

Award winners (except for the winners of community involvement awards) will receive $500 stipends to be used for future civic engagement development.  Three local agencies, Shalom Community Center, Leadership Bloomington-Monroe County and Psi Iota Xi-Zeta Chapter, will receive the Excellence in Community Involvement award.  Jim Heinzen and David Sipes will both receive Excellence in Service Learning awards for their coordinated effort to develop a long-term planned giving campaign for Girls Inc. of Monroe CountyOther Excellence in Service Learning award winners includes Girls Inc. of Monroe County, Sheilia Goodwin and Donna Young.

Winners of the Excellence in Volunteerism awards include Ivy Tech’s Program Chair for Design Technology Kirk Barnes for his coordination of this year’s VEX Robotics Competition for middle school students throughout Indiana.  Assistant Director of Financial Aid Gabe Hinds will be recognized for his significant contributions to Wildcare Inc.  Hinds currently serves as President of the Board of Directors for the organization of 115 volunteers rescuing over 1500 animals and birds each year.  Also receiving the Excellence in Volunteerism award is Sue Gauck, Ivy Tech’s Assistant Director of Student Support and Development, for her participation in clean-up efforts in Gulfport, Mississippi following Hurricane Katrina.  Gauck also volunteers for several local organizations. 

Two students, Tess Hall and Jonathon Williams Jr., will be presented with the Excellence in Volunteerism award.  Hall will be recognized for her work with the Monroe County Animal Shelter and Jonathon Williams Jr. for his significant contributions to several community organizations including the Bloomington Housing Authority Residence Council, Shalom Community Center and for his participation in the mentor program with Big Brothers Big Sisters.

This year’s Jeanine C. Rae Humanitarian Award will be presented to Steve Hanson, Ivy Tech student and full-time staff member.  This award, established in 1984, honors the memory of Rae, an Ivy Tech instructor.  The award recognizes a student whose attitude and way of life demonstrates concern for the well-being of others, has done an exceptional amount of volunteer work and has been a morale booster to other students.

Hanson, single-handedly, put together a team of volunteers for the Homeward Bound Walk for the last two years.  Forty-five participants from Ivy Tech raised over $1000 as part of this year’s walk.  The money raised at this event is given to agencies assisting the homeless in our community.  Hanson said, “The Homeward Bound Walk and the other things that I do for local nonprofit agencies provide me with the opportunity to give something back to the community that assisted me in my time of need.”  He also volunteers for several agencies throughout the community and has coordinated an annual car show to benefit charity held each year on the college’s campus