Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

This Story is provided by The Herald Times

Poling, others win Indiana counties awards

By Bethany Nolan

September 25, 2008

Monroe County Commissioner Joyce Poling was honored as outstanding county commissioner Wednesday night during the Association of Indiana Counties’ annual conference banquet, while county engineer Bill Williams was honored as outstanding county highway supervisor.

Both awards are in recognition of contributions Poling and Williams have made to county government throughout their years of public service, according to the AIC. Nominees and winners for the annual awards are chosen by county highway engineers and commissioners across the state.

“I was excited to be honored by my peers,” Poling said. “We always learn a lot from each other. The AIC conference is a time for all of us to share good ideas about how to do a better job.”

Stepping in to help give out awards that night, Williams said he was floored to see his name on one.

“That was quite an honor. I was surprised,” he said. “We took quite a bit of hardware home that night. I couldn’t believe it.”

The county also received a local government cooperation award for their work with Ivy Tech Community College on the Indiana Center for the Life Sciences. The new center is being developed to train students and those already employed in the life sciences, and will house science labs, classrooms and training programs. It’s scheduled to open around the first of the year.

The award is given for cooperation between one or more local units with a high level of positive collaboration, innovation, positive impact on the community and the participating governmental units and potential for the activity to serve as a model for other local governments, according to the AIC.

Nominations for the cooperation award are submitted by an elected county official from the nominated county. Winners are chosen by a committee of elected county officials chosen from across the state.