Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

This Story is provided by The Herald Times

Governor appoints Ivy Tech, higher ed leaders

IU PhD candidate among appointees

H-T Report, July 23, 2008

Governor Mitch Daniels has announced the appointment of new members to the Ivy Tech Community College and the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

Lillian Sue Livers of Madison and Anthony Moravec of Columbus have been named to the Ivy Tech Community College board of trustees.

Livers received her undergraduate degree in home economics and biology from Manchester College in 1970, according to a news release from the Governor’s office. Livers is the director of the KDH Foundation at The King’s Daughter’s Hospital in Madison and also serves on the board of the American Heart Association.

Moravec earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Southern Illinois University. He is the president of Blairex Laboratories Inc., in Columbus and a member of the Columbus Economic Development Board, the news release stated. Moravec also serves as chairman of the National Advisory Board for the Indiana University Art Museum.

Livers and Moravec replace Jesse Brand and Mark Neff. Daniels has re-appointed Lee Marchant of Bloomington, Ned Pfau of Jeffersonville, and Bruce Walkup of Sullivan. Their terms begin immediately and expire on June 30, 2011.

Bloomington native and IU PhD candidate Clayton Slaughter and Gary Lehman of West Lafayette are the two newly appointed members of the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. They replace Kathryn Dale and Deb Cook.

Slaughter, who was recommended by a student nominating committee to represent students as required by statute, completed his undergraduate work at Purdue. His term begins immediately and will expire on June 30, 2010.

Lehman, who will represent the 4th Congressional District, completed his undergraduate degree at Purdue in 1974. He now serves as president and CEO of Fairfield Manufacturing Co. Inc. in Lafayette and is a member of the board of directors of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce. His term begins immediately and will expire on June 30, 2012.