Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: 812.330.6222
Fax: 812. 330.6106

This Story is provided by The Herald Times

26 Students named to All-Indiana Academic Team

Twenty-six students from Ivy Tech Community College campuses across the state were among the 28 students named to the All-Indiana Academic Team. The academic competition which scores students on academic honors, activities including leadership and work experience, and an essay, is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges, USA TODAY, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa developed the All-Indiana Academic Team competition in 1994 as a component of the All-USA Team Competition. The top contestants are named to the First Team and runners up to the second and third teams.

Seven members of the First Team were Ivy Tech students, including Deborah Gale of Ivy Tech Community College - East Chicago, who was named the OneAmerica Scholar. She will receive a $1,000 scholarship from OneAmerica. The highest scoring applicant was Steve Sassaman of Ivy Tech Community College - Lawrenceburg. He was named the New Century Scholar and will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

The ceremony recognized the following Ivy Tech students:

First Team
Deborah Gale, East Chicago, Ivy Tech Community College-East Chicago
Debbie Head, Bedford, Ivy Tech Community College-Bloomington
Kathy Kurosky, Warsaw, Ivy Tech Community College-Warsaw
William Myers, Elkhart, Ivy Tech Community College-East Chicago
Joanna Nedeau-Kilby, Columbus, Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus
Steve Sassaman, Aurora, Ivy Tech Community College-Lawrenceburg
Debra Stockhover, Columbus, Ivy Tech Community College-Bloomington

Second Team
Deborah Gooden, Gary, Ivy Tech Community College-Gary
Alisa Harris, Fort Wayne, Ivy Tech Community College-Fort Wayne
Phaedra Jones, Madison, Ivy Tech Community College-Madison
Zanele Kutamo, Valparaiso, Ivy Tech Community College-Valparaiso
Kristina Poer, Crothersville, Ivy Tech Community College-Sellersburg
Angela Southerton, Logansport, Ivy Tech Community College-Logansport
Christopher Swander, Terre Haute, Ivy Tech Community College-Terre Haute
Susanne Waldeck, Columbia City, Ivy Tech Community College-Fort Wayne
Tracy Walker, Indianapolis, Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus

Third Team
Jonathan Bedrava, Noblesville, Ivy Tech Community College-Kokomo
Daniel Blair, Milan, Ivy Tech Community College-Lawrenceburg
Michael Bussberg II, Rushville, Ivy Tech Community College-Richmond
Sean Goda, Lafayette, Ivy Tech Community College-Lafayette
Thomas Leonard III, Lafayette, Ivy Tech Community College-Lafayette
Johnny Perez, Michigan City, Ivy Tech Community College-Valparaiso
Renee Ripberger, Kokomo, Ivy Tech Community College-Kokomo
Norma Saenz, Logansport, Ivy Tech Community College-Logansport
Kimberly Wheeler, Richmond, Ivy Tech Community College-Richmond
Jane Whipple, Mount Vernon, Ivy Tech Community College-Evansville

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for students of two-year colleges. With more than 1.3 million members, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education. Students must complete at least twelve hours of course work towards an associate degree and generally have at least a 3.5 grade point average to be considered.

Ivy Tech Community College is of the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system and the state's second largest public post-secondary institution with more than 110,000 students enrolled annually. Ivy Tech has 23 campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.