Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

Ivy Tech to host panels with college presidents, state officials and school superintendents on Friday

Conversation with Arianna Huffington will capstone a full day of panels at Ivy Tech

April 7, 2010

Bloomington, Ind.As part of its annual O’Bannon Institute for Community Service, Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus will feature co-founder and editor-in-chief of The Huffington Post, Arianna Huffington on Friday at 2:30 p.m., following a full day of panels in the Ivy Tech student commons.

This year’s O’Bannon Institute theme is “K-16 Education: Challenges and Opportunities in the New Decade.” Panel discussions will focus on the 2010 event theme and be held with college officials, state policy experts, area superintendents, and expert moderators. See schedule and list of panelists below.

The day will begin with welcome remarks by former Indiana First Lady Judy O’Bannon and Ivy Tech Bloomington Chancellor John Whikehart.

Chancellor John Whikehart says that he pleased to be able to bring influential leaders in education to the Bloomington campus. “The leaders on the O’Bannon Institute panels have direct experience and expertise in education to share with the public,” Whikehart said. “I look forward to providing the community an opportunity to hear the panelists’ expert remarks on issues and challenges in education. There is no more timely conversation than this.”

The O’Bannon Institute panels and capstone conversation are free and open to the public but reservations are required. Call (812) 330-6001 or email to confirm your attendance. The Ivy Tech Bloomington campus is location at 200 Daniels Way on the west side of Bloomington.

Schedule of Friday events at Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus (includes listing of panelists)
Registration (Continental Breakfast)
Welcome Remarks by Chancellor of Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus John Whikehart & Former Indiana First Lady Judy O’Bannon

Panel Discussion One Higher Education Officials
Jo Ann M. Gora President, Ball State University
Daniel J. Bradley President, Indiana State University
Don Doucette Senior Vice President/Provost, Ivy Tech Community College
John Applegate Vice President for Planning & Policy, Indiana University
Vic Lechtenberg Vice Provost for Engagement, Purdue University
Moderator:Chuck Carney Director of Communications & Media Relations, School of Education, Indiana University

 Panel Discussion Two Area Superintendents
Tony Bennett Indiana Superintendant of Public Instruction
J.T. Coopman Superintendent, Monroe County Community School Corporation
Steve Kain Superintendent, Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation
Ty Mungle Superintendent, Eastern Greene Schools
Dennis Turner Superintendent, North Lawrence Community Schools
MODERATOR: Anne Shane  Ivy Tech Community College State Trustee; Vice President, BioCrossroads

Lunch Provided

Panel Discussion Three State Policy Experts
Gerardo González Dean, School of Education, Indiana University
Scott Jenkins Governor’s Senior Policy Director for Education
Teresa Lubbers Commissioner, Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Greg Porter Chair of the Indiana House Education Committee
Terry Spradlin Associate Director for Education Policy, Indiana University
MODERATOR: Gerry Dick Host,Inside Indiana Business

Co-founder and editor-in-chief ofThe Huffington Post and nationally syndicated columnist, Arianna Huffington, moderated by editor ofThe Herald Times, Bob Zaltsberg

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system with more than 150,000 students enrolled annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana.  It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.