Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

Ivy Tech recognizes students, community for excellence in volunteerism

April 7, 2010

Bloomington, Ind.Ivy Tech Community College’s Bloomington campus kicked-off its annual signature O’Bannon Institute for Community Service by honoring faculty, staff, students and community partners during its Civic Engagement Awards party held in the Student Commons on Wednesday evening.

Award categories include Excellence in Service Learning, Excellence in Community Involvement, Excellence in Volunteerism and the Jeanine C. Rae Humanitarian award.

The Community Involvement award honors a community partner that the college works with throughout the year. The 2010 Recipient is Monroe County United Ministries (MCUM), a nonprofit organization that provides social services in Monroe County, including quality day care for children ages 2-6.

Tawana King, Ivy Tech Business Administration student, and one of the many Ivy Tech students benefiting from MCMU’s daycare says that all four of her children have attended MCMU and her youngest is still enrolled there. "I love it, and I refer parents there all the time," King said.

Recipient of the Service Learning award is assistant professor of English, Emily Bobo, Ph.D. Ivy Tech’s Bobo launched two service learning classroom projects – one in the fall and one in the spring – that engaged students in running poetry recitation and writing workshops for Aurora and New Tech High School students. This was made possible by Bobo’s achievement of an Indiana Campus Compact grant.

Annie Gray, Ivy Tech department chair of English, says that both of Emily's projects have forged strong relationships between Ivy Tech and external organizations. "Emily’s students have seen the value of class content outside the classroom,” Gray said. “Emily’s students have encouraged high school and elementary-age students to build connections with Ivy Tech and to discover the power of language and poetry."

Keith Klein, Ivy Tech’s assistant professor and program chair for communications, who was recently appointed to the Monroe County Community School Corporation Board is recipient of the Excellence in Faculty/Staff Volunteerism. Klein assists PBS and WTIU with on-air fundraising three times per year, hosts various public affairs programs at WTIU and a weekly radio program on WGCL-AM1370 in Bloomington. He frequently is emcee and moderator of community events, and is a leadership training instructor and motivational speaker.

Recipient of the Student Volunteerism award is Darcy Herendeen, Ivy Tech Liberal Arts student, who volunteered her time with the Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) over the July 4 week last year. Herendeen gave her time to help MDA campers between the ages of 6 and 17 with neuromuscular disease enjoy sports like boating and swimming, and the arts.

The Jeanine C. Rae Humanitarian Award recipient is Ivy Tech Design Technology student, Chris Reinhart. He has been a member of the Ivy Tech Ecology Club since 2008 and is currently serving as president. Reinhart has planned, organized and implemented a number of activities including the club’s America Recycles Day and several fundraising events. He is currently rewriting the clubs constitution to fit with the group’s goals. He is a member of Phi Theta Kappa honor society and will graduate in May 2010.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system with more than 150,000 students enrolled annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana.  It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.