Media Information
Amanda J. Billings
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (812) 330-6222
Fax: (812) 330-6205

This Story is provided by The Herald Times

WFHB elects three board members at community radio station meeting

Shaun McDermott and Marc Tschida re-elected; Emily Jackson elected to board for first time

By Mike Leonard 331-4368 |
June 7, 2010

Three members were elected to the board of directors of community radio station WFHB Saturday afternoon in the station’s annual meeting.

Board members, volunteers and those who attended the meeting also heard a treasurer’s report indicating the station is in good financial shape — “and that’s good news for everybody,” general manager Will Murphy said.
“It’s no secret that with a volunteer organization such as ours, financially, we’re often lurching from crisis to crisis,” he said. “This year, both of our fund drives made their goal, our capital campaign to convert to digital was successful, so all in all, it’s a good day down at the firehouse.”

Re-elected to the board were members Shaun McDermott and Marc Tschida. Emily Jackson was elected to the board of directors for the first time.

Murphy said the station’s move to convert to a digital signal is in full swing, and final applications and approvals for grant money from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting were approved just last week. The estimated cost for moving to digital is approximately $88,000, with $56,000 coming from CPB and $5,000 from another “pass-through” grant. WFHB raised $27,000 to attract the matching funds.

“We’re not like TV,” Murphy cautioned. “When we go digital, we’ll continue to carry an analog signal. You’ll still be able to pick us up on your car radio,” he said.

The digital conversion will enable the station to offer “subcarrier” or alternative programming other than its primary programming. WFHB’s signal reaches listeners in Monroe, Brown, Morgan, Greene, Lawrence, Owen and Brown counties. Its primary frequency is 91.3 FM, and it also can be found at 98.1 in Bloomington, 100.7 in Nashville and 106.3 in Ellettsville.

Attendees at Saturday’s meeting at the John Waldron Arts Center Auditorium also celebrated the radio station’s recent partnership with Ivy Tech Community College, which has assumed ownership of the arts center where WFHB’s broadcast operations are housed.

WFHB will continue to operate out of the southwestern corner of the facility — the old firebay — rent-free in exchange for promotional and other services it will provide for Ivy Tech.

Several awards were given out at the annual meeting. Foremost were the Volunteer of the Year award, given to Joy Laughter, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, given to Brian Kearney.

The newly created “Roper Award” went to John Whikehart, chancellor of Ivy Tech. The good-humored award is named after Mr. Roper, the fictional landlord in the late ’70s/early ’80s sitcom “Three’s Company.”

Copyright: 2010